Kindergarten Art Docent

I have a new arts & crafts role in the world – I’ve volunteered to be the Kindergarten Art Docent for my son’s class. I didn’t aim for this job, I actually volunteered for wherever the Kindergarten teacher needed most. This was it. I wasn’t sure about it at first, but then I decided to embrace it. Now I’m totally geeking out!

I even made a Pinterest board for our first project – torn paper collage autumn trees! This ties in really well with several of the curriculum pieces this year. The Kindergartners are studying the seasons/life cycles of trees. These pieces will be done in time for International Night at school. Trees are an iconic representation of our family and the cultural traditions that are passed down.

I hope this year we can make Kandinsky circles or Matisse-inspired cut art. Maybe dabble in Warhol-inspired paintings or Japanese Notan pieces exploring positive and negative space. The options are endless and exciting!

I guess I was really an art docent in waiting!

