Bisquick Roasted Vegetable Casserole (Gluten-Free)

2014-03-06 09.35.11Since adopting a toddler last summer, I haven’t had much time for crafting. A little project here, a little project there. Most of my creativity these days comes in the form of entertaining the wee one, juggling multiple tasks, and especially coming up with healthy food he’ll eat.

Recently as we hit the 20 month mark, my very typically picky toddler became even more picky and all my go-to recipes to get him to eat veggies started falling flat. This also seemed to coincide with the point at which he learned the sign language for cracker and cereal – oops! But no worries, I am not one to take a challenge lying down. My most recent win in the Toddler Food Wars was so good, I decided I had to share it. The toddler ate and ate and ate this. It was the first time he’s consumed vegetables with enthusiasm in a couple of weeks.

Part I: Roasted Veggies  

I made this roasted vegetable crepe filling recipe from Angela’s Kitchen for Mardi Gras (paired with buckwheat crepes. It was the best crepe filling I’ve ever eaten. Perhaps the best roasted vegetables I’ve ever eaten. But I think you could certainly experiment. I had eggplant that needed to be eaten, so I sauteed it and added it to the leftovers roasted veggies (because I forgot to add them to the roasting pan). The toddler never noticed.

Ingredients

2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/3″ cubes
1 medium red onion, diced
10 ounce container mushrooms, cleaned and coarsely chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon dried thyme
salt and pepper to taste
2 -3 tablespoons olive oil
2 cups kale, ribs removed and chopped

Directions
Heat oven to 400 degrees F.  Mix all ingredients except kale on a rimmed baking sheet. Roast in preheated oven for 15 minutes. Add kale to pan and stir mixture around.  Roast for 10 to 15 minutes more until sweet potatoes are tender and beginning to caramelize. Stir mixture carefully before serving. (Cool before adding to Bisquick casserole – I used leftovers of this recipe, so you’ll have more than you need for one 8×8 recipe, but that’s okay because you’ll just want to shovel these veggies straight into your mouth. The toddler, however didn’t want to shovel them into his mouth until they were swimming in bisquick casserole.)

Part II: Bisquick Casserole

I can’t find the original source for this recipe, but there are plenty like it online. It was originally for making a zucchini and onion casserole, which was okay. I think it helps to cook the veggies before making the casserole. I’m certainly going to experiment with other leftover or freshly cooked vegetables in the future, but I suggest starting with the roasted veggies above.

Ingredients

~1.5 cups of roasted vegetables (or other cooked veggies)
 1/2 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs, slightly beaten
1/2 cup (Gluten-Free) Bisquick mix [or substitue 1/2 cup (gluten-free) flour mix, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt]
1/2 cup Parmesan Cheese (optional – we’re dairy- and cheese-free in our house, so I leave it out)
1/4 teaspoon pepper
Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Lightly oil an 8×8-inch pan
In a large bowl, stir together veggies, oil, and eggs. Add dry ingredients, combining well
Pour into prepared pan
Bake in preheated oven for 30-40 minutes until golden brown
Cover with foil if browning too quickly
Cut into squares and serve
