Strings Attached Pillows

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a huge fan of Malka Dubrawsky‘s fabric and her patterns.  Malka challenges my inner artist to be more free and less constrained by the part of myself that likes rules and guides and paths. I want to be free in my creativity, I want to roam aimlessly and create the kind of beauty I see in Malka’s work, but it also scares me to death!!  Malka’s designs give me license to start flirting with more free forms of art through quilting. Thank you, Malka!

When a friend got married this summer, I really wanted to make her something special. I offered a couple of ideas and she told me she wanted pillows to match her couch. I asked her what kind of pattern she wanted and she said that she liked the log cabin pillows I’d made for my husband’s aunt. But she wasn’t really sold on the batik fabric, so I went in search of fabric to match her purple couch. I settled on Piper by Dear Stella and then decided that since I don’t like to do too many things twice, that I’d try a pattern by Malka Dubrawsky called “strings attached” from her book Fresh Quilting: Fearless Color, Design, and Inspiration. In her book, this pattern is used to make pot holders and a trivet. I thought the scale should transfer well to a 16″ x 16″ pillow.

Here is the result:

2013-12-07 16.14.46

2013-12-07 16.15.25

2013-12-07 16.17.31

2013-12-07 16.17.41

I created these using 16 squares that were 4.25″ in width. I used solid pieces of fabric from the Piper line for the back and opted for a zipper on the bottom instead of two overlapping pieces of fabric on the back. It just seemed simpler that way and more likely that my friend and her husband could flip the pillows over if they wanted a simpler design to show off.

I chose to quilt it starting at the middle and working in concentric squares, since I don’t have a free motion quilting foot that works on my machine right now, so straight lines are all I can quilt. Still, I like the pattern and they look great on my friend’s purple couch (though truth be told, I love it more in the bold colors Malka uses in her book)!

