Snuggler

20130825_1120 web

I finished this project a few months ago for my friend who had a baby in August. When I asked her what I could make her, she directed me to this snuggler pattern from Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing for Baby: 24 Easy Projects for Newborns to Toddlers. To my delight, there was a free pdf pattern online! My friend is known for making things for other people, so I really wanted to make something for her.

My friend thought she was having a boy, but I wasn’t convinced, so I wanted to choose fabric colors that would match her nursery (done in turquoise, brown, green, and orange), but wouldn’t be too boyish. I ended up with this beautiful turquoise pseudo polka dot and the orange with white trees (which I believe is Glimma by Lotta Jansdotter). It turned out I was right, so I’m glad I didn’t err on the side of boyish blue. I didn’t use fleece liner as recommended, but rather used white flannel. It’s nice to think that they’ll breathe well for the little baby.

20130825_1117 web

I was very pleased with how the snugglers turned out though I struggled a bit with the pattern pieces and instructions. The largest pattern pieces didn’t seem to quite line up after I printed them, so I had to do some creative juggling of the pattern pieces to make something that seemed right.

20130823_1113 web

Positioning the velcro was the most difficult part, but in the end I think it all worked out. I used a Dritz(R) Marking Pen w/ Water Soluble Ink – Blue that disappears with the application of water, but it was hard to see on the colored fabric, and the white version was nearly invisible on the turquoise fabric as well, so I had to re-transfer the markings a couple of times. But I do love those pens, they are so handy!

I also found it very difficult to sew around the “arm pits”, if you will, of the snuggler (the corner where the flaps meet the body), but that might just be par for the course.

What I love about this pattern is that it’s a unique baby gift. Everyone makes baby blankets. Sure they’ll be used for a longer time than a snuggler, but EVERYONE makes or gives blankets. Why not make a snuggler instead? They’re cute and practical and not a boring old receiving blanket. And this is something that could be kept for little girls to use on their dolls or passed on to other friends.

